top of page

The top 10 friendly movies for families

In this article I describe the 10 all-time best family movies to watch from least best to the best of the best. Wow that should be a tongue twister!

I will try not to include any spoilers, so that you can read this article and not be worried that you might already know that Jack from Titanic will die. Whoops that was a spoiler, let’s pretend that you didn’t hear anything. So, without further ado let’s get started!

10. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

To be honest I would say that you should watch all the Harry Potter movies. But on this list, I am only mentioning one - Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: the best as I also read the book. It’s about three 11-year olds that have a crazy and adventurous life in their magic school, Hogwarts. But I will say no more because as I said before I will do my best so there are not any spoilers in the article.

9. Mrs Doubtfire

Mrs Doubtfire is a movie that has happy, funny and sometimes even sad moments; but this might be just because I’m very emotional. It’s about a man who dresses up as an old lady just so he can be in touch with his children. One of the things I also liked about this movie is that it has a happy ending. I would definitely recommend it to all comedy lovers.

8. Tangled

Tangled is a Disney animation movie and although most of you probably don’t like cartoons, this one is a must watch! It tells a classic brothers Grimm story, Rapunzel, but of course it’s a little bit changed. It’s full of funny characters and scenes and if you ask me, it’s the best Disney movie.

7. The Never Ending story

The Never Ending Story is a classic movie from the 1980’s. Horror, fiction, adventure – it is every one of these types and is definitely still one of my favourite movies. It is about a boy who enters a whole new world that’s inside a book. With his friends he tries to save the written world, defeating the evil that threatens to destroy it.

6. The Goonies

The Goonies is another classic from the 1980s. When two brothers find out they might lose their house they are desperate to find a way to keep their home. When they find a map they gather a group of friends to look for pirate treasure in their neighbourhood. The Goonies tells a story of friendship, love and bravery.

5. We Bought A Zoo

Following his wife's untimely death, a Los Angeles journalist decides to make a fresh start by quitting his job and moving his children to an 18-acre property containing the Rosemoor Wildlife Park. Throughout the movie the main character builds up his relationship with his children. This movie is full of emotional and heart-breaking scenes and I would fully recommend it: with a box of tissues.

4. E.T. The Extra Terrestrial

Ok, so let me count…………Yes this indeed is the third 1980’s classic movie in this article! But I had to add it into this list! ET The Extra Terrestrial is a sci-fi movie that tells the story of an extra-terrestrial from another planet. During this movie you will learn about the extraordinary connection between an alien and a boy.

3. Back to the Future (Part 1)

Back to the Future is yet another 80’s classic. Although it’s a trilogy, in this list I’m only mentioning the first part as I think that it’s the best one. It’s about a teenage boy, Marty McFly, who gets thrown back to the 50’s because of a science experiment. There he meets his future parents and with the help of his scientist friend he tries to go back to his own time.

2. Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark

Indiana Jones has always been my idol. He searches for treasure, defeats the bad guys and has lots of adventures. In Raiders of the Lost Ark, Indi is hired by the U.S government to find the Ark of the Covenant before the agents of Hitler get their hands on it. This one is definitely the best adventure movie of all time.

1. Cheaper by the Dozen

Cheaper by the Dozen is, and will always be, my favourite family movie. It’s about two parents- Tom and Kate Baker and of course their 12 children! When Tom gets a new job the whole family suddenly must move to Chicago. To complicate things further, Kate goes on a book tour which means that Tom has to stay home to take care of their 12 children! This movie is a must-watch!

Unfortunately, this is the end of this article, but I hope you liked it and that I helped you to decide what to watch during the next family movie night!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page