top of page

Interview with our longest standing teacher, Ms. Bocz

Ms.Bocz has been working here in BISB for 25years! Liam and Emily went to interview her and these are the fascinating results:

Liam: Why did you start working in this school?

Ms. Bocz: “I was in the right place at the right time. The founder of the original school (MBIS), Mrs Pázsit, phoned a friend of ours and asked if she knew anybody who would be able to work for them. As I had studied English and History, I was taken on to teach Hungarian Culture."

Liam: “What is your area of expertise?”

Ms. Bocz: “My current area of expertise is EAL, but I also organise the Hungarian culture studies.”

Liam: “How long have you been working in our school?”

Ms. Bocz: “Well… A very long time, I’ve worked here for 25 years, this being my 26th!”

Liam: “Which year was your favourite out of those 26?”

Ms. Bocz: “Well I was thinking about that, but I don’t think I could pin it down to one particular year because every year is different and has its own highlights!”

Liam: “What are the major changes that have happened?”

Ms. Bocz: “If I just think about the building, this is the third building we’ve had! And of course with the building, the numbers of students have grown as well”.

Liam: “Why didn’t you ever change schools?”

Ms. Bocz: “I never thought about changing as I have grown with the school. I hope that I can add more and more to this place each year and I continue to learn, which is just fantastic!”

Liam: “Have you noticed any generational changes?”

Ms. Bocz: “Yes, I think with this digital generation everything is speeding up. We teachers try to show our students so many things in the day and sometimes I think as a teacher our job should be to help all of us to stop and look around and enjoy what we have: slow down, relax, read, think.”

Liam: “What is your fondest memory in our school?”

Ms. Bocz: “I thought back and... trips, trips were the best. I remember once 15 or 20 years ago when the whole school got on buses and went down to Òpusztaszer to see an amazing exhibition."

Liam: “What question would you ask yourself?”

Ms. Bocz: “I would ask what my biggest challenge was. The answer is the language. When I came here I had just graduated and I wasn’t as good in English. The hardest thing for me was to speak to parents on the phone when I knew what I wanted to say, but I didn’t understand them.

Liam: “Did you always teach EAL?”

Ms. Bocz: “Well.. at the start there were not many teachers and I had to teach Hungarian Language, Hungarian Literature and Hungarian Culture and then a bit later on I started to teach EAL which is what I teach now.

Liam: “ And thank you very much Ms Bocz for your time and your work!”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page