top of page

Get Lost in Skiathos

“Could’ve been better” were the first words to cross my mind as I stepped outside of the plane and gazed at the tiny, rugged airport. It looked really old, but I remembered the pictures of the island and I quickly forgot about it.

The sun was beating me up with its bright rays but upon my arrival to the beach I finally looked up and to my surprise It was a lot better than I thought. When walking to our seat the trees leaned down like if they were trying to reach us with their branches and leaves. You could tell they very tall just from looking at them, they just leaned out to the people and especially to the mini bar. I could bet they were trying to get a cold drink just like everyone else.

The sand was as soft as feathers when you stepped on it. The beach was also bombarded by the sand castles made by all of the children. Telling you that there was absolutely no trash on the beach for the eye to see would be a bit farfetched to some standards, but it was true! I was impressed at how good of a job the people on the beach did. No more having to shield your feet behind flip-flops. It might seem ridiculous to talk so much about no garbage being on the beach but nowadays it’s hard to find such things. Oh yes! There were also barely any shells so no stepping off the beach with half a foot anymore.

It was time! Finally, it was time to go in the sea. Of course, after the annoying sun cream session encouraged by my mom, I was able to finally swim in the clear sea water. It was quite warm and so clear you could see the bottom from even 2 meters above it. There were many different species of fish, even the flesh-eating fish which didn’t feel very threatening, I quite enjoyed letting a few of them quiver around my feet, it felt like more of a massage with extra tickling. It didn’t hurt, and they were about 5 centimeters long, so it wasn’t a problem to let them scout you. There were also the bigger fish, like the 30-50-centimeter fish… Now those were quite the challenge to examine. So big and fast, it felt like one second, they were there and the other they disappeared. They weren’t harmful, so it was actually quite fun to swim around them. It seemed like they were so scared of you when the tiny fish were attracted to you like 13-year old girls to Justin Bieber.

The beach was called Koukounaries which has nothing Kou Kou about it. The beach has another name Golden Sand and it was given the name because of its very yellow and goldish looking shore. It is located in the Southwest of Skiathos, 16 kilometers away from the main Town on the island. Skiathos is an island in the group called Sporades which is located in the Northern Aegean Sea. Koukounaries was once known as Maratha Until 1964, when Skiathos was designated by the Greek National Tourism Organisation as a special development zone for tourism. The island has 50 km2 and its highest point is 433m above sea level. The island has a population of about 4000 people, in summer it can reach 50000.

There was also one of these inflated toys where people stand on and while a boat speeds up and spins them around while bashing their lives against the waves. It was truly an unforgettable experience which I strongly recommend unless you ate a few doughnuts beforehand. There was one unlucky fellow which happened to make that grave mistake and it didn’t turn out well for him. Apart from that it was really fun having your face plummet against the rough plastic for 20 minutes straight and the only way to stop was to jump off, of course I didn’t jump off being the “tough” boy that I am.

Overall, I think that anyone that has the chance to go to Skiathos should definitely go without hesitation. It is by far the best place I have ever visited and the view and fun were just amazing and I hope I never forget my trip to Skiathos.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page