top of page

Meet our new teacher Ms. Nannery!

Jenny: welcome to our interview! We are journalists from MUSE magazine, and we are here to interview new teachers this year, among new teachers we chose to interview you, our new music and drama teacher!

Ayin: We are very glad you accepted our interview. Can you please introduce yourself?

Ms. Nannery: Of course, yeah. I am Ms. Nannery. I come from the UK, it’s my first-time teaching outside of the UK and I teach music and a bit of drama. I always dreamed of living and working internationally as a Music teacher and is delighted to start that journey at BISB.

Ayin: What do you think of BISB and what was your first impression of it?

Ms. Nannery: I really love it. I think I have come from a school where sometimes the people are happy to be there but loads of the time they are not. But I feel like coming here, a lot of the staff and students are really kind of content, happy, and feel supported here. So, I feel like that’s a really nice place to be.

Jenny: Was there any special moment at our school that is very memorable?

Ms. Nannery: I don’t know yet. Well, I am running the music band for beauty and the beast and sometimes they will put funny sounds on the piano. So, Jason in y10, switched to the scream sound when he was not playing, and then Ms. James walked in, and he started to play the piano. It was screaming, and she walked in so that was pretty funny. I do like the students! These students have got a really good sense of humour and it is important.

Ayin: Do you enjoy the process of teaching in our school and why?

Ms. Nannery: I do! Yes! I think it’s really nice too. , In my last school, I had to focus a lot on the students that did not want to be at the school, and it was a lot of energy focused on people that kind of didn’t like the subject as well. So, it’s really nice to be here and actually teach people who want to learn about music and about other subjects as well. I think I do very well in that environment and situation.

Ayin: Thank you, moving on to the next question. The next question is: “Why do you have a passion for teaching? Why did you start teaching?”

Ms. Nannery: Yeah, it is a very good question. To be honest, I am such a keen music nerd and I love talking with other people that are passionate about it as well. I think it is the same for all subjects as for example Ms. Walsh, She is passionate about English, and she love talking to people about language and writing. I am the same but talking about the different dramas and music, I think because it is such a wide spectrum of different things people can listen to and enjoy, I found out it was interesting talking to people about that. So, I like to do that as well with young people because I think young people have interesting things to say about music.

Jenny: That is very interesting! What inspired you to teach in an international school?

Ms. Nannery: So, part of it is I did want to move outside the UK. It was okay, but I kind of wanted to try something new. So that was part of it as well. Umm... And it seems like a school, you know Nord Anglia seems like a school where I wanted to teach at. Like I said previously, it is a safe place where students and the staff feel like at home, feel comfortable and able to thrive so I think that drove me to an international school. Also just meeting people from different cultures and from everywhere, coz I like meeting and talking to people about what they have been doing.

Ayin and Jenny: That is the end of our questions. Thank you so much for the interview, we are so glad to have a great music teacher like you in our community! We hope you enjoy teaching in BISB this year.

Ms. Nannery: Thank you, thank you for your time!

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page